News Releases

The Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts announced the following certified list of candidates who have applied for the associate judge vacancy in the 17th Circuit based on the impending retirement of Associate Judge Randy Wilt:

Tomiko L. Ballard     

Alesandra R. Friend Laird

Erin C. Hannigan

Scott P. Robinson

Andrew T. Smith

Jeffrey J. Zucchi

Aaron C. Buscemi

David M. Gill 

Joseph B. Kosek

Heidi E. Ruckman-Agustsson

Paul R. Vella  

Andrew J. Fisk

Elder Granger, II

Matthew R. Leisten   

Derrick J. Schmidt

Daniel T. Wilkins

The Circuit Judges of the 17th Circuit are inviting written comment regarding these candidates from all interested individuals and organizations.   Comments must be in writing and received by the Chief Judge no later than 5:00 p.m. on February 2, 2024.  Anonymous letters will not be accepted.  Letters will be placed in each of the candidate’s files.  There shall be no other direct or indirect contact with any Circuit or Associate Judge regarding an individual’s candidacy.

Anyone wishing to comment should direct their correspondence by U.S. mail to Chief Judge John S. Lowry, Winnebago County Courthouse, 400 West State Street, Suite 215, Rockford, IL 61101 or by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

PDF of Press Release


Coming to Court

Virtual Court

Self Rep

Records Search and Payments

Local Rules


400 W State St
Rockford, IL 61101