

August 8, 2024

## ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT APPOINTS JUSTICE EUGENE DOHERTY TO FOURTH DISTRICT APPELLATE COURT

Justice Lisa Holder White and the Supreme Court of Illinois have announced that Justice Eugene G. Doherty has been appointed as an Appellate Court Justice in the Fourth District.

Justice Doherty is being appointed to fill the vacancy originally created by the elevation of Justice Holder White to the Supreme Court. His appointment is effective immediately. Justice Doherty is running unopposed for the seat in the November 2024 election.

Justice Doherty served on the bench in the 17th Circuit from 2007 to 2022. He won election in 2008, was retained by voters in 2014 and 2020 and served as Chief Judge of the Seventeenth Circuit from 2018 to 2021. In 2022 he was assigned to the Fourth District Appellate Court following the elevation of Justice Holder White to the Supreme Court, with an assignment expiration of December 4, 2024.

His work on Illinois Supreme Court Committees includes serving as the Chair of the e-Business Policy Board, Chair of the Pretrial Release Appeals Task Force, Vice-Chair of Court Operations During COVID-19 Task Force and Chairman of the Task Force's Evictions Subcommittee, and as a member of the Weighted Caseload Task Force and the Statutory Court Fees Task Force.

Prior to joining the bench, Justice Doherty worked for 16 years as an attorney for Holmstrom & Kennedy, P.C. in Rockford. He had previously served as a Law Clerk for Second District Appellate Court Justice Philip G. Reinhard.

Justice Doherty earned his Bachelor of Science from Northern Illinois University and his *Juris Doctor, summa cum laude,* from the Northern Illinois University College of Law.

His professional associations include the Illinois State Bar Association, the Illinois Judges Association, and the Winnebago County Bar Association, of which he is a past President.

The Fourth District Appellate Court is composed of 41 counties: Adams, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Winnebago and Woodford.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or <a href="mailto:jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov">jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov</a>)