Judges of the 17th Judicial Circuit

Eugene G. Doherty, Chief Judge Stephen E. Balogh, Associate Judge Ronald A. Barch, Associate Judge Joseph J. Bruce, Associate Judge Joseph P, Bruscato, Circuit Judge Jennifer Clifford, Associate Judge Lisa R. Fabiano, Circuit Judge John T. Gibbons, Associate Judge Mary Linn Green, Associate Judge Gwyn Gulley, Circuit Judge Donna Honzel, Associate Judge lanet R. Holmgren, Circuit Judge John S. Lowry, Circuit Judge Brendan A. Maher, Circuit Judge Francis M. Martinez, Associate Judge Joseph G. McGraw, Circuit Judge Philip J. Nicolosi, Associate Judge Steven L. Nordquist, Associate Judge Debra Schafer, Associate Judge Donald P. Shriver, Associate Judge C. Robert Tobin, Circuit Judge Ronald J. White, Circuit Judge Randy Wilt, Associate Judge K. Patrick Yarbrough, Associate Judge John H. Young, Associate Judge Kathryn E. Zenoff, Appellate Court Justice The Seventeenth Circuit Judicial Speakers
Bureau was established to increase the
public's awareness and promote the understanding of the operations of your
court system. For further information, and
to familiarize yourself on the our judicial
system, please visit our webpage at:

www.17thcircuit.illinoiscourts.gov

Seventeenth Circuit Court Administration Office
Winnebago County Courthouse
400 West State Street, Suite 215
Rockford, Illinois 61101

Phone: 815.319.4806 Fax: 815.319.4801

Website: www.17thcircuit.illinoiscourts.gov



Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court

Judicial Speakers Bureau

Chief Judge Eugene G. Doherty

17th Circuit Judicial Speakers Bureau



About the 17th Circuit Court

The State of Illinois is divided into twenty-three Judicial Circuits, also known as trial courts. The Seventeenth Iudicial Circuit is composed of both Winnebago County and Boone County.

In the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit there are twenty-five judges. There are two types of Judges: Circuit Judges and Associate Judges. Circuit Judges are elected by popular vote for an initial six-year term. The Circuit Judges elect a Chief Judge to provide administrative guidance to the entire Circuit. The Circuit Judges also appoint and vote to retain Associate Judges based on four-year terms.

The Seventeenth Circuit holds court in three main courthouses, as well as other auxiliary facilities. We hear all types of cases, including but not limited to family matters, personal injury claims, commercial disputes, trust and estate issues, criminal cases, and landlord-tenant matters.

About the Speakers Bureau

Our Judicial Speakers Bureau was established to help the community gain an understanding and knowledge of what can be a very complex legal system and the various programs in which the court is involved. The Judicial Speakers Bureau is comprised of judges who preside in both Boone County and Winnebago County. Judges are available to speak to any school, community group or civic organization in the Seventeenth Circuit that would like to further their understanding of our court systems and the administration of justice.

Suggested Topics

The Constitution and The Court System Bill of Rights

Criminal Justice System Domestic Violence

Traffic and DUI Court Jury Trials

Small Claims Juvenile Justice

Alternative Dispute Drug Court and Mental Resolution Health Court

Sentencing in Illinois Divorce: Laws and Lessons

Civil Court Process Special Programs for Schools

If there is a specific law related subject your group would like to explore that is not listed here, feel free to request it. We will make every effort to meet your group's request.

Courthouse Tours

Guided tours are available of all our court facilities. These tours offer groups the opportunity to see first hand the operations and inner workings of the several components which make up our Justice System. These tours are customized for particular groups and typically include the participation of our ludiciary, Circuit Clerk's Office, Court Reporters, Law Librarian, Jury Commission, Bailiffs, and other court personnel. Tours will also include an opportunity to observe live courtroom proceedings. Any interested group or individual is welcome to schedule a court tour.

Arranging an Event

To arrange for a speaker or schedule a courthouse tour, please contact Thomas lakeway in the Circuit Court Administration Office at 815.319.4830. Please allow approximately thirty days notice to arrange for a speaker. Thank you for your interest in the Seventeenth Circuit Judicial Speakers Bureau.

Contact:

Thomas R. Jakeway, Trial Court Administrator

Phone: 815-319-4830 815-319-4801

Email: tjakeway@17thcircuit.illinoiscourts.gov